top of page

Rayleigh Lawn Tennis Club Tournament History


Rayleigh Lawn Tennis Club was formed in the winter of 1919 by Cyril Adams and his sister Irene.  Play first commenced in the summer of 1920, sadly that winter Cyril Adams passed away.


In the summer of 1921 the first ever Rayligh Lawn Club Tournament was held. There was a mens singles event that was won by Major C F Miles. The Major was presented with a shield dedicated to the memory of Cyril Adams. This shield has been presented to all the mens singles champions of the club to this day.


Every summer the club hosts annual tournaments in several events.  There is a full list of winners from all events including doubles and veteran events dating back to the year 2000.  The list of junior winners date back to 2009 when current head coach, Ryan Wilson,took over the running of junior tournaments.

Adult Club Champions


Our records for all adult tournaments from the year 2000


Pictured: Mave Blewitt and Nicola Savage, winners of the 2014 Ladies Doubles.

Junior Club Champions


Our records for Junior Tournaments from 2009.


Pictured:  Matt Cannon and George Vile, winners of the 2014 Junior 18& Under Doubles.

bottom of page